(Technically) Sunday Catch Up

My clock says 0:14, therefore it’s Sunday, therefore I’m going to do ‘today’s’ write up, and ROW80 catch up now. Why not, will leave one less this for me to procrastinate with tomorrow.

Writing since my last blog on Wednesday hasn’t been good. Actually, Thursday was GREAT. I completed One Thousand Thursday AGAIN, for the third week in a row. Woop. That’s 3,000 words in 3 weeks, just on Thursdays, so if I include everything else (and the words going over the 1k. I must have done loads. I should say well done here too to Em, Lauren and A.Writer for getting their 1,000 too – or 1,000 plus for Lauren and Em who were in the final days of Camp NaNo and had a few thousand to do each – per day!

Friday I didn’t write. I had a boring day at work, where I had loads to do, but couldn’t be bothered to do any, so I messed about. I didn’t even write. Disappointing. Friday night I went to Ilana Fox’s new book launch with my ROW80 buddy, and real life friend Laura – there’s an excuse for not writing if there was ever one. I’ll write-up a blog early next week about the party – it was great fun. I now have a copy of her newest novel All That Glitters (which comes out on 13th September), which I can’t wait to read (Spotlight – her first novel – was brilliant. I hadn’t expected to like it, but I truly loved it).

Obvioulsy getting home late (and slightly drunk if I’m honest) wasn’t very condusive to writing. I say that, but I was slightly drunk on Thursday and did about 1,250 words. God, I sounds like a drunk. I’m not. I’ve just had a busy few days. Just to prove it, I’m sober now – and it’s Saturday night! No, Sunday morning! 🙂

I got home last night with the idea of cutting the last 10k words of the novel The Man of My Dreams, to try to get back on track. It may not be that much, it may not be that few. I was raring to go, but thought I should wait until today.

Today came along and I realised I can’t remember where the story was going to go before I messed it up. I can’t remember the point at which it started going wrong.

Ah, that’s a problem.

So new idea time. Before I wrote the novel I wrote the novel, I wrote scenes out on post it-notes (planning you might say!), which I then stuck on my bedroom mirror. As I wrote a scene I threw the post-it away. I think I need to go back and find out what happened. I need to rewrite those post-it note and find what happened, to help me to find what went wrong and how I can fix it. That’s the new plan.

As I’ve written this, I’ve had a revelation. I don’t think I threw them away. I think I stuck them in a notebook. Awesome. Now, if I could just find which of my 3 million note books it was.

Ok, lets move on to my goals for next week.

Currently I have 100 words a day as my goal. I’m usually writing a lot more, but telling myself I only have to write 100 motivates me. It’s my test mile. I test out 100 and if they work out, I carry on. If they don’t, it’s only 100, it won’t take long, I won’t have lost anything. My ‘test mile.’* The only exception is Thursday, where I’d like to write, no, I’m GOING to write 1,000 words. So – 1,600 by this time next week. I don’t want to look at it like that though – 100 a day. That seems better, and more doable.

I’m going to add a couple more goals too – blogging and exercise.

For exercise, I want to get back into the gym. This week I’m going to go once. It’s not a lot, but if I set myself a small goal this week then I think it will be doable, and I’ll do it. I’ll build up to going more! I also want to start walking from the tube to work, not getting th bus as I have been the last few weeks. So, I need to walk 6km this week – that’s that journey 3 days. On of the other days I’ll be going to the gym, and the fifth, the last part of the goal, I will walk home. It talks about an hour, but that’s fine. As long as the weather is ok, I really don’t mind. It’s just easier to get the tube. And quicker.

The final goal – blogging. I’m doing well with ROW80 check-ins on Wednesdays and Sundays, but I want to up my blogging. 3 times this week – including the check-ins. Oh, and I should do a book review too. I’m so behind on the for my reading challenges!

Hope everyone’s week has gone well (let me know if they have/haven’t), and good luck with your goals for next week!

 

*I used this strategy to get myself running today – 1st time all summer. I said I’d go out for 10 minutes, but I managed 20. Excellent!

5 thoughts on “(Technically) Sunday Catch Up

  1. Great job on the thousand word thursdays! I will be there this Thursday 🙂 Love the idea of the book launch and I see you are reading the new Marian Keyes! How have you got hold of that?! I am waiting with baited breath and cannot wait!

    Grabbing out those post its sounds like a great idea to help you get on track and I hope you locate them without too much searching!! Have a great week!

  2. I love your idea of doing a “writing test mile” every day and your Thursday goal. This is exactly the ROW80 spirit! Keep up the good work and don’t beat yourself up for the few days you take off 🙂

  3. Yay for writing 1k words on Thursday!
    And yay for wanting to go back to the gym. After I stopped dancing professionally (hurt foot), I didn’t want to exercise and became lazy. This year, I forced myself to go back to the gym and do something. Now I go to the gym 5x a week and I’m thinking about going a 6th time lol It’s addicting. It’s routine now. I can’t imagine NOT going … It becomes a habit, if you let it.
    Hm, sorry about the pep talk, but this is something fascinating to me because I was so lazy and “against” gyms and now I can’t live without it lol
    Have a great week!

  4. Love your test-mile idea, and I”m totally stealing it! Well, I will if I ever get out of revisions and back to my “new” WIP. 🙂 And I like that you set goals each week instead of for a big chunk of time – that way they can change as the week’s demands change.

    Good luck with this week, and getting back to the gym, too!

Leave a Reply

