Mid Week Check-In

I do hate doing this. I’m writing a post, being all positive about how well I’ve been doing, because I am, and because the last few weeks have been terrible. I hate doing them, if then the next day, or the day after that, I stop being all productive. Lets just hope that doesn’t happen.

My weekly goals are fourfold this week – writing, blogging, exercise and eating. Lets take them one at a time:

Writing – 100 words per day. Monday 144 or something. Tuesday – no writing, but spent a lot of time thinking about my (potential) NaNo novel. And doing a little plotting on paper. Yeah, it’s not words, but I’m counting it as a success for Tuesday.

Blogging – 2 check-in blogs (Wednesday and Sunday), 2 book reviews, and another blog. obviously I’ve got the Wednesday check-in blog tick. I also reviewed All That Glitters by Ilana Fox yesterday. So far, so good.

Exercise – gym 1x and run 2x. I’m going to the gym tonight. Not sure how I’m going to fit in the 2 runs though. I’m going out tomorrow night, and will be too hungover on Sunday, which would leave Friday and Saturday, but I shouldn’t really run two days in a row. Well, I can, that’s probably a bit of an excuse. No, it’s not really, you do need to give your body time to rest after exercise. Oh well, I’ll work that out later. Important thing here, I’m going to the gym tonight. First time for… (other than the 1 exercise class I did the other week) way too long. Months. Still, I’m going. That’s great!

Eating – eat well and ‘fast’ one day. I must be eating well, because I haven’t really exercised this week, but I’ve lost 1lb. I’ve not been recording it, but I  haven’t been REALLY bad. Yesterday was supposed to be my fast day, but that went wrong when I went to Tesco on the way home, and got sweets for my boyfriend (who was ill at home). Wouldn’t have been so bad, if I hadn’t eaten some of the sweets, or bought some chocolate, that I also ate. Oops. Today can’t be the fast day as I’m going to the gym, nor tomorrow as I’m going out so will have a glass of wine, or two. Maybe Friday? Maybe Sunday? Hmm. Look at the good bits, I’m eating well.

So it’s going well. I’m likely to mess up the doing well, but usually October is a good month for me (with the pre NaNo ”I haven’t done enough this year/ must finish novel before NaNo starts” madness). I’m hopeful.

Yes, so I’m doing NaNo again. This will be year four. So far I’ve ‘won’ each year. Year 3 is the one that lots of people fail, so having passed that is good. This year, I’m not very confident about my novel. Yeah, I’ve only been thinking about it for a day, but I’m just not sure. It’s not my usual chick lit, so I’m not too confident, plus, I don’t really know what’s going to happen. All the novels I’ve got that I’ve written well in NaNo have been plotted out before 1st November. The one time I didn’t bother, I finished the 50,000 words, but was still only at the beginning. I need a plan.

With two weeks to go, I can’t start stressing about it yet. Probably once I start the planning, it will go swimmingly. In the meantime, I just need to get the time to do it, and try to get some writing in too. With shorter working hours, that shouldn’t be a problem. She says…

2 thoughts on “Mid Week Check-In

  1. Oh my goodness, I could have written this blog!

    Welcome to my world. I can empathise as so much rings true.

    However I’m much better at giving others advice than to myself
    so have to agree with Laura – look at what you HAVE achieved rather than what you haven’t! Something has to give. You’re not wonder woman! x

Leave a Reply

