The Snowman by Jo Nesbo Review

SOON THE FIRST SNOW WILL COME. 
A young boy wakes to find his mother missing. Their house is empty but outside in the garden he sees his mother’s favourite scarf – wrapped around the neck of a snowman. 
AND THEN HE WILL APPEAR AGAIN. 
As Harry Hole and his team begin their investigation they discover that an alarming number of wives and mothers have gone missing over the years. 
AND WHEN THE SNOW IS GONE… 
When a second woman disappears it seems that Harry’s worst suspicions are confirmed: for the first time in his career Harry finds himself confronted with a serial killer operating on his home turf. 
…HE WILL HAVE TAKEN SOMEONE ELSE.
 
 
I got given this ages ago, but hadn’t read it, something else always came up. Plus I’d not read any Jo Nesbo books before, plus it says ‘The Next Steig Larrson,’ which kind of put me off a little (although I loved his books, they were a little long, and so much pointless info was in them!). I finally read it then as nothing else was appealing on my shelf, and really wish I’d read it before.
Harry Hole is the MC, an alcoholic detective hunting a serial killer. He’s not perfect (alcoholic, so obviously not), but his flaws make him a great character.
There are quite a few twists in the novel, and things that seem pointless as a reader (but as a writer I know different), so I was constantly trying to work out who the killer was, if it was even a character that had been introduced. I was still surprised in the end, although it was more of a ‘oh yeah, of course’ than a shock. Brillinatly done though.
The only thing I’d say negatively about the book, was the final paragraph, it didn’t seem to make sense to me. I had to google it, to try to work out what I’d missed. It seemed I wasn’t the only one – I found quote a few forums and blogs questioning what it was about. No one had a concrete answer, but a few made enough sense for me to almost be happy with it. Gotta say, I’d love to meet Nesbo to ask him.
 
Leave a Reply

