NaNoWriMo 2012 – T Minus 1 Day

It’s NOVEMBER tomorrow. How did that happen? Seriously, we’ve had 10 months this year! 10. I can’t believe it. And now it’s NaNo again. AGAIN. So I have to start (choose to) writing another novel tomorrow. Um, eek!

That paragraph got me thinking about this year. It’s been pretty good. I got promoted in February back to a job where I have responsibility, feel like I’m making a difference, and one that has manager in the title. Since leaving the hotel, it took me 4 1/2 years to get that Manager title back. That was 3 1/2 years of floating about, not really knowing what I wanted to do, and 1 getting the experience in Facilities Management to get the job. It’s been a long road, but it’s been fun, and I’ve met some great people, and now I’m in a good place.

This week is my 4th week in another position. Another promotion, although only tiny this time – my title is the same, but I’ve got my own building, rather than assisting someone for part of the week, and having my own the rest of the week. Woop! It’s going… well… OK. It’s not going to rock my world, but I’m going to get some great training, and some great experience. I hope. The site is really quiet, so, I’m going to be able to do some writing while I’m there, daily. Woop! I just need to get over this mental hurdle I’ve got that’s saying it’s going to be a rubbish site! It’s not, it’s going to be good for my career, and for my writing! What more can I ask for?

Lets move on and look at my goals, and how I’m doing with them:

Writing*: 100 words or NaNo plotting 5 days. On Monday I did quite a bit of plotting. I still don’t know what’s going to happen in the second half to make it to the end, which is worrying me, but I’m hoping I’ll get there. Part of me thinks that I’m just not clever enough to think up some good thriller/mystery plot points. Part of me wants to hit that other part of me for thinking that though. We’ll see. I guess a good thing on this is if I know what’s going to happen in the first half, that will probably be 40,000 words, so I’ll only need to worry about another 10,000 to get through NaNo. Of course, really, I don’t want to be thinking like that. I want to finish this novel, not stop at 50,001 on 31st October.

I was saying I did plotting on Monday. On Tuesday, I realised I should do some writing, so when I got in and was tidying up, I started thinking what I could write. I decided I’d write a bit from my main character’s recent history. An afternoon with her niece. 350 words. Boom. Not 1,667, but not 100 either! I ALSO did some plotting.

Nothing yet today, but it is early (plus, if I’m 100% honest, this blog was written on Tuesday night, so definitely no Wednesday writing or plotting!)

Goals, come on Helen, concentrate!

Writing: 1,000 creative words posted on my blog. Not done yet. I’ve just (literally this second) decided that this week’s words, will very fittingly be the first 1,000 ish words of my NaNo novel, on Thursday. It fits well because in my head Thursday is fiction posting day (I guess it comes from my One Thousand Thursday idea, which I’ll definitely be doing in November!!).

Blogging: 1 book review, 2 check in posts, and the writing post. I reviewed Case Histories by Kate Atkinson yesterday. This is my first check-in blog. Still time. As above the writing one will be Thursday. Next week I’m going to reduce this goal down to 1 check-in per week. I’ll still aim for 2, but with NaNo, if I don’t have time for both, I’m not going to get worried about it. I need to focus on the 1,667 words.

Exercise: Gym or run x2. I nearly went to the gym yesterday, but I left work quite late, so decided to go today instead. Will do something at the weekend, or maybe Friday. We’ll see. Yesterday, when I decided not to go to the gym, I decided to walk to the next tube (not the closest one), in the end, I walked to the one further than that – over 3k, and over 200 calories. Not bad, especially not bad for someone that couldn’t be bothered to go to the gym!

Eating: Fasting 1 day (500 calories), 1400 calories 5 days. Didn’t count Monday. I think I did OK. No idea though. Tuesday I got 1,222 calories, so really happy with that. I’m going to try today as the fasting day, but I’m not sure, because I’m planning on going to the gym, so I should really eat to give me energy for that. I dunno.

So there we have it. I can only count 2 days, but they’ve been good days so I’m very happy. Lets hope today goes well, then I’m kicking off NaNo tomorrow. Woop!

*Note – of course from tomorrow, my writing goal changes to 1,667 words EVERY DAY!

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2012 – T Minus 1 Day

Leave a Reply

