Looking Back At 2012

I actually can’t believe it’s 2013. Where did 2012 go?

I’ve just been discussing how 2012 went from a writing point of view. I have to admit, not well. Every year after NaNo it takes me MONTHS to get back into writing – I’m talking until the summer. In 2012, I never really got back into it, until NaNo hit again in November.

I can make lots of excuses up (I started a new job that was a lot more work, and I actually cared about and had responsibility in February), but really I just don’t know the reason. I still want to write, but it’s just something missing between the want and the actual doing. I’ve tried loads of things to get me out of the funk, and loads have worked, but only short term.

Maybe I’m being a little hard on myself here (but maybe I need it?). I think I wrote 80,000 words in 2012. 50,000 in NaNo (yep, I won again – 4th year in a row!), and 30,000 on The Man of My Dreams. That’s not actually all that bad. Obviously though, it could be better.

I’ve nearly finished TMOMD, I’ve got a couple of scenes to finish and add, but I think my next step is printing and editing and I’ll add those scenes in as I go. I’m not 100% sure I took the story down the right route, so I may have to rewrite about 20,000 of those. Depressing, but it may be necessary. Maybe that’s why I’m taking so long to get on with it.

In 2012 I read 34 books. You know what’s funny? In 2011, I also read 34 books. Without planning to read the same number each year. (I’m wrong, I’ve actually read 35 this year. Not so weird). I’ve read some really good books. I’d like to talk about them more though, so I’ll so a separate blog sometime on them!

I took part in 3 reading challenges – Mystery and Suspense Reading Challenge (12 Mystery/Suspense novels), the Chick Lit Challenge (12 Chick lit novels – 2 debut novels in 2012) and the TBR Pile Challenge. I read all the books I needed to for the Mystery and Chick Lit ones, but didn’t get all the reviews done – in fact I need to write 10 to complete them. I’m going with I finished though. Yay. For the TBR Challenge, I only read 10 novels. Gutted. I should have succeeded on this. One I realised I was never going to read – The Lollipop Shoes (as it’s a sequel and I’ve not read the first), but I have no excuse on the others.

I have however been part of a book group. We’ve read 8 (I think) books this year. I’ve really enjoyed that, and am looking forward to next year. Once we decide the next novel.

2012 was a good year. Here’s to 2013 being even better!

Leave a Reply

