The Headhunters by Jo Nesbo

Roger Brown has it all: clever and wealthy, he’s at the very top of his game. And if his job as a headhunter ever gets dull, he has his sideline as an art thief to keep him busy.

At a gallery opening, his wife introduces him to Clas Greve. Not only is Greve the perfect candidate for a position that Brown is recruiting for; he is also in possession of one of the most sought-after paintings in modern art history.

Roger sees his chance to become rich beyond his wildest dreams, and starts planning his biggest theft ever. But soon, he runs into trouble – and it’s not long before the hunter becomes the hunted…

headhunters

 

I read my first Jo Nesbo novel, The Snowman, last year, and loved it. I liked the setting of Steig Larsson’s novels, and so thought I’d give Nesbo a shot, I’m so glad I did, Larsson had nothing on him. The Snowman had me gripped, Nesbo is SUCH a good writer. When my step mum gave me this over Christmas I couldn’t wait to start reading it.

Roger Brown is a weird main character, in that he’s not really a very nice person, and you don’t warm to him easily. He loves money, art and his job. Luckily he also loves his wife. If it wasn’t for her, I actually think he’d be a monster. Although I I wasn’t sure about him for a long time, I was gripped by the story almost immediately, and kind of rooting for him.  Having finished it, I can’t say for definite if I do like him or not, but I LOVED the novel.

I is a totally thrilling thriller, I found myself getting really nervous in a few situations, with my heart racing, and that genuine nervous, jittery feeling.

At some points in the novel I thought that it was too much, that it was too unrealistic, but I’m not sure if it was. It’s hard to say anything else without giving too much away, but some of the situations he got in seemed just a little stretch of the imagination. Or he was just damn lucky.

I know it’s been made into a film, and I’m really interested to watch it, I think it has the potential to be brilliant.

I cannot wait to read more Nesbo books, he’s got a massive back list of novels that I’m going to love getting through. I just can’t believe I hadn’t discovered him before now!

 

One thought on “The Headhunters by Jo Nesbo

  1. Pingback: Week Round Up « Newtowritinggirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

