Wednesday’s Words

I can’t believe it’s Wednesday night already. How did that happen? Being busy at work really makes the week fly! 

I’ve done no editing yet this week. I’m quite disappointed with this. Steve (the boy) was away on Monday, getting back late Tuesday. On Monday I accidentally (!!) turned the TV on and watched some soaps, then some CSI, then some more, then some Law and Order. Then I realised it was midnight, bedtime. I had my laptop on my lap the whole time. Really disappointed with myself.

Yesterday I planned to go to the gym after work, but had an accidental (see a theme here?) glass of wine during a catch up with an old colleague in the afternoon. After months of not going, I didn’t think being a little tipsy (it was a large glass, on an empty stomach!!) was a good plan, I’ve never fallen off a running machine, but didn’t want a first time.

Tonight I’ve been really tired, so done nothing.

Somethings are going well though this week. These are my goals, and how they’re coming on:

7 hours editing – 0 so far. But it is only Wednesday.

2 hours on my writing course – 0 again. Ditto above.

2 book reviews (one for here, and the completed one for Novel Kicks) – 1 done and sent to Laura at NK, 1 started. Not bad.

Burn 1,500 Kcal in addition to normal daily walking to work etc – 150Kcal so far. Well, it’s 1/10. Least it’s something. Hmmmm. Gym tomorrow.

3 fasting days: 2 done so far – Monday and today. Result.

I’ve done some things, so it’s not that bad. And, I still have 4 days left. Not sure the exercise one can happen now, but I’ll give it a go.

Exciting news of the day – Laura from Novel Kicks liked my book review, so in the near future I’ll have my first review on the site. Woo. So excited about that. I’ve been posting book reviews on here for years, but it’s such a big thing to be asked by someone else to write on their site. Makes me want to write another one right now…

Instead, I’m going to have an early night in the hope I sleep well, get up on time tomorrow (which I haven’t done this year) and become productive tomorrow night.

Here’s to the rest of the week!

9 thoughts on “Wednesday’s Words

  1. You’re not the only one who gets sidetracked (our own doing or not)!!! I work best under pressure. Like having three days left to reach my goals and I’m accountable- I’ll do it. Because I hate to lose. 😀

      • Groups where I have to feel shame when I post my weekly word count helps. That and I have a daughter who writes as well. There’s nothing like a 20-year old gloating because she beat her mom!
        Feel free to email me if you want to be accountability buddies. I can use all the humiliation I can get!!! 😀

  2. Although I know darn well that I write much better and faster with the TV off, I try not to chastise myself too hard if it “accidentally” gets turned on. Actually, if I can choose something like “Ancient Aliens” for background (I write SciFi) I can treat it like white noise.

    • When I was at school, I used to study with the radio or music on. Now I can’t. I can sometimes work when the TV is on now, but only if my boyfriend is watching something I’m not interested in!!

Leave a Reply

