Pearshaped by @stellanewman Review

A novel about love, heartbreak and dessert.

Girl meets boy.
Girl loses boy.
Girl loses mind.

Sophie Klein walks into a bar one Friday night and her life changes. She meets James Stephens: charismatic, elusive, and with a hosiery model ex who casts a long, thin shadow over their burgeoning relationship. He’s clever, funny and shares her greatest pleasure in life – to eat and drink slightly too much and then have a little lie down. Sophie’s instinct tells her James is too good to be true – and he is.

An exploration of love, heartbreak, self-image, self-deception and lots of food. Pear-Shaped is in turns smart, laugh-out-loud funny and above all, recognizable to women everywhere.

 Pearshaped

I had this book recommended to me by author Fiona Gibson (look at me name dropping!). We’d been talking about previous novels we liked, and as she loved You Had Me at Hello as much as I did, I thought I could trust her judgement. Then, when Laura decided to have it as Novelkicks’ book club book of the month in February I knew I had to read it.

It really was good, really good. Sophie is written so well, she’s a character I couldn’t help liking. James is an idiot, you can’t help disliking him. I find such vastly different views on two of the main characters brilliant, my emotions being mixed during the novel!

When I was younger I went through a relationship very similar to James and Sophie’s, so I totally ‘got’ it, and I know Sophie grew as a character because of it, just as I did as a person.

Enough of the characters, enough of the story – food! Mmmmm. Sophie is a dessert creator for a supermarket chain, and food lover (and I think Ms Newman must be too). I am too (the lover bit not the creator bit) and some of the pages were so alive with desserts and other foods. They were described so well, and sounded so good, I’m sure I dribbled a few times. I almost feel like put on weight reading it!

My only criticism, is one very similar to one I’ve had before, I think the cover blurb gives too much away, I think it would be so much better as a do they/don’t they novel, but I can’t take that away from Newman at all.

Heat magazine summed this book up brilliantly, ‘If you are a girl with a passion for food, (which I totally am), this modern city heartbreak is the book for you.’ Read it, you won’t regret it. I’m already massively looking forward to her next novel – Leftovers which comes out in the next few weeks.

Leave a Reply

