It’s been a really long month, but I’m nearly, nearly at the end of my course. I just need to the assignment, which they recommend spending 2 hours on, then I’m done. Phew. My exams we Friday, I think they went OK. All I can do is wait until June (yes I have to wait until JUNE) to get my results.

And now I’m done (or as good as), I can get back to writing, and editing, and you know, having a life. A life, wow, how exciting.

To celebrate being done, we went out for drinks on Friday. They were very heavy, I did nothing yesterday. Today I’ve cleaned the house, having done limited housework while I was studying, and had some friends over for dinner. Now they’ve left, and I can do whatever I want. Like anything. I don’t need to study, I’m not going to do any work work, and I’m leaving the assignment until I’ve done a little more at work.

So anything. I was going to read. I need to read Hitchikers Guide To The Galaxy, which is Novelkick‘s book club book of the month – which I should really read, since I suggested it! I also need to read Safe House by Chris Ewan. What I really want to read though is Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver. I don’t have it, and can’t afford it before payday (Thursday, please come quickly!!), but the library have it, so I’m going to borrow it. Which means not getting into anything.

So what to do? I know… WRITING.

Yep, I’ve done some writing. When I say some, I mean 1,000 words. That’s pretty awesome isn’t it. The problem is it might be too little too late. I want to enter Belinda Jones’ Sunlounger Short Story Competition. With this course thing, I haven’t been able to justify writing, so if I want to enter it, I need to write and edit a short story competition by Sunday. Saturday really because my brother and his girlfriend will be here on Sunday. That’s quite a lot to do in a week.

But you know me, I always like a challenge.

Also, Friday is bank holiday so there’s an extra day. Only I’m going out for dinner on Thursday and my mate wants a heavy one. I guess it depends how I do until then.

I’ve been having a problem with thinking up a story. Granted I’ve not really given it that much thought, but on and off I have. Now I’ve a week I need to get something. And I have. Kind of. One of my novels is set in Majorca (most of it anyway), so I’m going to try to adapt that to a short story. Gulp. I know. I must be made. I’ve chosen a few key scenes and am rewriting, in the hope it will make sense and be ok for a short story. Wish me luck, I may need it.

Oh no, I’ve just realised, I need to think up a title for the story, I hate thinking up titles, and I’ve been trying to think up one for this novel for about 4 years! How am I going to think up one for a short story in a week?

Last Tuesday, I went to see Lauren Oliver at Waterstones on Piccadilly. I was looking forward to it so much. She was awesome, and signed my copy of Before I Fall. I’ll write a blog about it this week.

Right a few more words… then bed.

Leave a Reply

