Things I Haven’t Done This Year

It might be a much shorter post if I called it, ‘Things I HAVE done this year.’ In terms of writing, reviewing, editing, it would have finished already.

This time last year, I was doing NaNoWriMo. I ‘won.’ I wrote the 50,000 words in the month. And then I stopped writing. I was going to take December off, then edit The Man of My Dreams.

January came. I got into the Romantic Novelists’ Association’s New Writer’s Scheme – meaning I could submit a manuscript to be critiqued by one of their novelists. That was something to encourage me to edit, right? Um, wrong. February came, then March, April and May. Then it was summer, then it was August, I had just until the end of the month to submit my manuscript. I could still do some of it – a few chapters. Then it was 20th. Then 22nd. By 26th, I’d finally admitted I wasn’t going to do anything.

Gutted.

So what’s happened this year?

Well in February I did a course at work, which was really intense and I worked on out of work time too. Then in March I transferred to a new company – in the same role . It was a lot of learning, and quite tiring being the newbie again. Then, in May I got offered a promotion (woo!), and started the new job in June.

Since then I’ve been flat out. Pretty much all the time. I’m contracted to work 35 hours a week, but I’d be surprised if I’ve done as few as that, ever. Most of the time, I enjoy my job, and I’m back to a role where I feel like I’m making a difference, so it’s good. But it’s not good on the writing/editing front.

Also, in May, I started running, training for a half marathon I completed in September. My team and I raised just under £2,000 for the MS Society, which is amazing, and I’m really proud of. I also completed the half – my first, and hopefully not last. All good, but again, it took up so much time.

Sometimes, I feel like I don’t care that I haven’t done anything, I’ve been busy, my job’s demanding, and I’ve done a half. But then, I remember how much I love writing, and miss it. But, as you can see, it’s still not enough to push me back into it. I think a lot of the problem is that what I need to do is edit the novel.

I hate editing. Well, I think I do. I’ve never actually done it, I hate the idea of it. No, I’ve edited short stories, but not a novel, a whole novel. Not 80,000 words, or however many it is.

On a positive note… I’ve read loads this year. I think that’s positive, isn’t it?

I’m hoping writing this, will encourage me to do this.

2 thoughts on “Things I Haven’t Done This Year

  1. Hi NTWG
    If you’ve been ace at the reading then why not read your own novel? That’s the start of editing, I’m sure you’ll enjoy getting back into the lives of your characters and you’ll see your story through the eyes of a reader which is the perfect place to be to start editing.
    Please don’t stop writing, you’ve come this far.

Leave a Reply

