2013 Reading Challenges Results

In 2013 I signed up to do two reading challenges – Roof Beam Reader’s TBR Pile Challenge and The Crafty Book Nerd’s Mystery/Crime Reading Challenge. Did I succeed? Lets see.

TBR Pile Challenge:

This was the second year I signed up for this. Year one I failed, and unfortunately year two I failed too. I think the problem was that I carried some books over from the first year, and with the competition of other newer books, and them being sat on my list for over a year, I didn’t have the want to read them. That, and I tried some, and couldn’t get there with them. At the beginning of 2013, I had to chose 12 books, and 2 alternatives. This is the list, and how I got on:

Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell (on 2012 list). Fail. It’s so long. It would have taken up so much time. I want to read it, I really do, but it’s so long…

A French Affair by Susan Lewis (on 2012 list). Fail. I think I picked it up at some point to read it, but never got there. It’s not even back on the shelf now. No idea what happened to it.

Catch 22 by Joseph Heller. Fail. I tried this though. I tried and tried, but I just didn’t get it. It bored me. I want to try it again – people rave about it, it’s a classic. Maybe I missed something. I’ll try again.

A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess. Fail. I didn’t even look at it.

Delirium by Lauren Oliver. READ. Finally, a pass. I loved it. Can’t wait to read the final in the series.

One Moment, One Morning by Sarah Rayner. READ. Yes, that’s two. Good book. Enjoyed it.

Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. READ – three. It was ok, I enjoyed it. I’m not sure if I’ll read any others in the series though.

Build A Man by Talli Roland. READ (I’m on a roll here – four). Read it, enjoyed it.

Animal Farm by George Orwell. Fail. Didn’t even look at it.

The Liar’s Lullaby by Meg Gardiner. READ (five). Brilliant. Love everything she writes. Brilliant.

and the 2 alternatives

Flash Forward by Robert J Sawyer. Fail. I thought about it a couple of times. It’s not near enough the top of the pile.

Catching Fire (The Hunger Games trilogy, book 2) by Suzanne Collins. READ. (six). Absolutely loved it. Can’t enough good things about it.

So there we go. 6 out of 12. That’s terrible. I think I read more in 2012. I’m disappointed in myself when I read so many books. If I do it again in 2014, none of the books listed here will be carried forward!

Mystery/Crime Reading Challenge:

I’ve done several versions of this over the years, and can’t for the life of me remember how I usually do on them, I feel like I ‘win’ them. This year I read:

1 – The Headhunters by Jo Nesbo (Brilliant, my new fav thriller author)

2 – Sister by Rosamund Lupton (A little werid, but very enjoyable, with a great twist).

3 – Stalkers by Paul Finch (Fantastic. Another fav author discovered).

4 – Safe House by Paul Finch (Great)

5 – Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (Brilliant, still can’t get over the ending).

6 – Say You’re Sorry by Michael Robotham (Brilliant, absolutely brilliant)

7 – Liar’s Lulaby by Meg Gardiner (for TBR challenge too – as I said, fantastic)

8 – The Sea Sisters by Lucy Clarke (Great, really good, with brilliant ending)

9 – The Nightmare Thief by Meg Gardiner (see, I told you I loved her, Liar’s Lulaby was so good, I had to read another in the series almost straight after).

10 – The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriaty (really good, a little predictable, but great).

11 – Game by Anders de la Mott (Unexpectedly ace. Can’t wait for the next in the series).

12 – The Last Time I Saw You by Eleanor Moran (I’m not 100% sure it should be classed in this, but there was a mystery over the crash, so I’m using it) (Fab).

I did it. Yeah! Go me! However, I didn’t review any. Does that mean I fail? Hmmm…

As you can see from my comments, I chose some really good books this year (some were book club books, so not just my choices, and Game was sent by to me by the publisher, so not entirely chosen either). I really enjoyed this challenge again.

One out of two isn’t bad I guess. Now, for 2014 challenge(s)…

Leave a Reply

