My Next Reading Challenge – The TBR Pile Challenge 2012

I read about this challenge and just knew I had to do it. I’d like to mention who’s blog I found it from, but stupidly I didn’t write it down when I found it when I was surfing on my phone yesterday. Doh! The challenge is hosted by Adam at Roof Beam Reader (for the 3rd year running – how have I not heard about this before?

When I last counted how many books I had on my shelf, to be read, it was 80. When I last moved at the beginning of the year it had to be more. As you can understand – this is a brilliantly suitable challenge for me.

The Goal: To finally read 12 books from your “to be read” pile (within 12 months).

Specifics:

1. Each of these 12 books must have been on your bookshelf or “To Be Read” list for AT LEAST one full year. This means the book cannot have a publication date of 1/1/2011 or later (any book published in the year 2010 or earlier qualifies, as long as it has been on your TBR pile – I WILL be checking publication dates). Caveat: Two (2) alternates are allowed, just in case one or two of the books end up in the “can’t get through” pile.

2.  To be eligible, you must sign-up with Mr. Linky  – link to your list (so create it ahead of time!) and add updated links to each book’s review.  Every listed book must be completed and must be reviewed (doesn’t have to be too fancy) in order to count as completed.

3.  The link you post in the Mr. Linky below must be to your “master list” (see mine below).  This is where you will keep track of your books completed, crossing them out and/or dating them as you go along, and updating the list with the links to each review (so there’s one easy, convenient way to find your list and all your reviews for the challenge).  See THIS LINK for an idea of what I mean.  Your list must be completed by December 31st, 2011.

4. Leave comments on this post as you go along, to update us on your status. Come back here if/when you complete this challenge and leave a comment indicating that you CONQUERED YOUR 2012 TBR LIST!  Every person who successfully reads his/her 12 books and/or alternates (and who provides a working link to their list, which has links to the review locations) will be entered to win a $50 gift card from Amazon.com or The Book Depository!

5. Crossovers from other challenges are totally acceptable, as long as you have never read the book before and it was published pre-2011!

The problem for me was chosing which of my tbr books to use. In the end it was earlier than I thought, I pretty much just picked the first 14 I found. Here they are (in no particular order):

Petite Anglaise by Catherine Sanderson

A French Affair by Susan Lewis

The Brightest Star in the Sky by Marian Keyes

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest by Steig Larsson

Case Histories by Kate Atkinson

Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

After the Party by Lisa Jewell

The Lollipop Shoes by Joanne Harris

The Little Lady by Hester Browne

The Last Juror by John Grisham

Daniel isn’t Talking by Marti Leimbach

Salem Falls by Jodi Picoult

And the 2 Alternatives:

Just Between Us by Cathy Kelly

Members Only by Leonie Fox.

I when I’ve done the Mystery and Suspense Challenge before (2010 and 2011) I didn’t have a plan – I just thought I’d read books when I found them (I didn’t have to state which books I’d read for that one), however that’s left me rushing at the end of December both years to finish. I can’t do this challenge like that because there’s a couple of LONG books in there, and we know how much I want to ‘win’ this challenge.

So, I’ve got a (very rough) plan. I’m going to read the LONG books at the beginning of the year. Then try to read one a month for the rest of the year. I’d actually really like to read all 14, so you never know.

I’m really excited about this. Just wish it was 2012 already so I could crack on with it (although I have the rest of my 2011 reading sorted anyway!).

This page will be my main one for the challenge, then when I review the books I’ll create a link from here to the individual page.

I can’t wait!

**10.1.12 Update – First novel complete – Petit Anglaise – review linked above**

**17.8.12 Update – I’ve now read 5 novels for this challenge, so I’m a bit behind where I should be at this time in the year. I’m even more behind with reviews, I’ve only done 3 out of the 5. Must catch up, on both reading and reviewing**

2 thoughts on “My Next Reading Challenge – The TBR Pile Challenge 2012

  1. Glad you’re joining us!

    I’ve got Gone With the Wind on my list for 2012 as well – I’ve owned it for years, but just haven’t managed to read it yet. That will be rectified soon! I also need to read the Stieg Larsson trilogy… I’ve owned the hardcover box set of that for a while, too, and haven’t even read the first one yet. =/

    Good Luck!

  2. Pingback: Girls’ Night In with Adele Parks, Carmen Reid, Katie Fforde and Lesley Pearse « Newtowritinggirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

